Skip to content
Civic Buzz - League of Women Voters Minneapolis
The Civic Buzz meets the first Tuesday of each month at the Black Forest Inn Banquet Room, Nicollet Avenue S. at 26th St. W. in Minneapolis. We gather at 5:30. You can order drinks and food and we begin our meeting at 6:15 and end at 7:30. Each month we have a speaker followed by discussion. Each month will have a new topic/issue for discussion. Anyone interested in discussing pressing topics related to citizen engagement are invited. A discussion with the League of Women Voters means that all voices are heard and we take opinions seriously. In the end, we all learn something new and hopefully have a broader understanding of the issues. Civic Buzz is co-sponsored by Whittier Alliance.

Hennepin County Governance 101 

How much do you know about how the Hennepin County government impacts our lives?  Get a primer on our county government from Linda Higgins, retiring Hennepin County Commissioner for District 2.  Hennepin County, the largest county in Minnesota by budget and population, is governed by a seven-member Board of Commissioners, three of whom represent different parts of Minneapolis.  The 2018 budget of $2.4 billion (Minneapolis’ 2019 recommended budget is $1.6 million) pays for community health facilities, over 2,000 miles of roads, 41 public libraries, and health and human services to vulnerable populations.

Minneapolis has taken huge strides toward open government and accountability. What steps is the county taking? How transparent, inclusive and efficient is the county budgeting process?  What more can be done to raise our collective awareness about the largest local government entity in our lives, particularly in an election year where all three incumbents representing Minneapolis are being challenged?

About Linda Higgins: Higgins joined the Hennepin County Board of Commissioners in November 2012.  Before joining the County Board, Commissioner Higgins was the Minnesota State Senator from District 58, representing Downtown and North Minneapolis from 1997 to 2012. While a member of the Senate, she chaired the Public Safety Budget Division, State and Local Government, and Elections committees and served on the Capital Investment, Environment and Natural Resources, Finance, and Health and Human Services committees.

Flyer to post.

Scroll To Top