Boards and Staff

LWV Minneapolis Boards & Staff

LWV Mpls is committed to making the democratic process work for everyone.

To do this, its board of directors, members, advisors and friends contribute time, expertise and resources.

Board of Directors, Committee Chairs, Project Support

The LWV Mpls Board of Directors meets monthly to set policy, approve the budget and make recommendations for programs approved by the organization’s members. It is a “working” board that plans activities to support the organization’s mission. In addition to the officers, who provide leadership to the board, board members have have specific areas of responsibility.


  • Co-Presidents: Alice Moormann & Anita Newhouse
  • Secretary: Marie Schwartz
  • Treasurer: Carrie Lichtenburg


  • Past President: Sandy Sweatt Hull
  • Communications: Katie Gardner
  • Voter Services Chair:
  • Program: Anne McLaughlin & Dyan Venters
  • Voter Assignment Editor: Marion Hall
  • Membership: Katie Fournier

Committee & Service Chairs

  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee: Alice Moormann
  • Membership Committee: Katie Fournier
  • Personnel Committee: Carrie Lichtenberg
  • Parks Committee Chair: Margit Berg

Project Support

  • CMAL Representatives: Joann Martin & Kate Redden
  • Communications – VOTER Editors & Proofreaders: Jennifer Johnson & Jane Olmstead Papageorgiou
  • Communications – VOTER Layout: Katie Gardner
  • Communications – Web Content & Social Media: Katie Gardner & Traia Thiel
  • Corresponding Secretary: Pam Telleen
  • Development Sustainability Initiative: Julaine Heit
  • Fundraiser: Pam Telleen
  • ILO Representative: Molly Fleming
  • Nominations: Barb Kimer & Colleen Moffatt Kimer
  • Program – Civic Buzz: Joan Niemiec
  • UMRR Representative: Molly Fleming
  • Voter Services – Election Night Services: Rosemary Lawrence & Janet Midtbo
  • Voter Services – Neighborhood Elections: Saralyn Romanishan
  • Voter Services – Voter Registration Coordinator: Miriam Maples


LWV Mpls employs part-time staff to ensure excellent service for members and the community. Email us at [email protected] for more information on our office hours or to make an appointment.